Research departments

Athena Institute
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Joske Bunders-Aelen 
Department Manager: Astrid Kooijmans MSc 
Administrative Office: Saira Mamadeus (Thu + Fri) and Michèle Verschoor 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 87031 
Email: secretariaat.athena.falw@vu.nl

Earth Sciences
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Wim van Westrenen 
Department Manager: aaw.afdelingsmanager.falw@vu.nl
Administrative Office: Fenny Bosse and Barbara Simon 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 87310 / +31 (0)20 59 87303 
Email: f.bosse@vu.nl / barbara.simon@vu.nl

Ecological Science
Head of the department Animal Ecology: Prof.dr. Jacintha Ellers 
Head of the department Systems Ecology: Prof.dr. Rien Aerts 
Department Manager: aaw.afdelingsmanager.falw@vu.nl
Management support: Jozien Vedder (Tue - Thu) 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 87004 
Email: ecologie.secretariaat.falw@vu.nl

Environment and Health
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Jacob de Boer 
Administrative Office: Corry Zoll 
Telephone:  +31 (0)20 59 83233 
Email: corry.zoll@vu.nl

Health Sciences
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Maurits van Tulder 
Department Manager: Astrid Kooijmans MSc 
Administrative Office: Heleen Heijstee, Karin Uyldert and Jozien Vedder (Mon + Fri) 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 86985 / +31 (0)20 59 87005 / +31 (0)20 59 84344 
Email: heleen.heijstee@vu.nl / karin.uyldert@vu.nl / j.g.vedder@vu.nl

Institute for Environmental Studies
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Jeroen Aerts 
Department Manager: aaw.afdelingsmanager.falw@vu.nl
Administrative Office: Marjolijn Staarink and Corry Zoll 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 89555 
Email: info.ivm@vu.nl

Molecular Cell Biology
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Holger Lill 
Administrative Office: Jacqueline Cransberg and Jeannet Wijker 
Telephone: +31 (0)20 59 87241 / +31 (0)20 59 88330 
Email: secretariaat.mcb.falw@vu.nl

Center for Neurogenomics and Cognitive Research (CNCR)
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Guus Smit 
Administrative Office: Brigitte Borgman 
Telephone: + 31 (0)20 59 87116 
Email: brigitte.borgman@vu.nl

Computer Science
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Dick Bulterman 
Secretary: Caroline Waij 
Tel: +31 (0)20-59 83563 
cp.waij@few.vu.nl

Physics and Astronomy
Head of the department: Prof.dr Gijs Wuite 
Secretary: Régine Anmuth (Mo + Th) and Steven Barker (Tu + Fr) 
Tel: +31 (0)20-59 87948  
r.anmuth@few.vu.nl / s.barker@vu.nl

Chemistry and Pharmaceutical Sciences
Head of the department: Prof. dr. Iwan de Esch 
Secretary: Yolanda Ariaans 
Tel: +31 (0)20-59 87544 
secrcps.few@vu.nl

Mathematics
Head of the department: prof.dr. Mathisca de Gunst 
Secretary: Marielle van der Aa 
Tel: +31 (0)20-59 87700 
m.m.a.vander.aa@vu.nl

History and Social Aspects of Science
Head of the department: Prof.dr. Frans van Lunteren 
Tel: +31 (0)20-59 87891 
fh.van.lunteren@few.vu.nl